Our History

History of Trinity Christian School


From humble and yet passionate beginnings, Trinity Christian School was founded when a small group of families considered the need for a new independent school on the south side of Canberra. After considerable thought and prayer, further support was gathered and the pioneering team set about establishing a school where Christian ideas and values could be openly and honestly discussed.


By the end of 1979 the newly named Trinity Christian School was ready to open. At the time, every available building in Tuggeranong was owned by the Commonwealth Government. The Federal Minister for Education gave permission for classes to commence in three classrooms at Wanniassa High School in 1980.


In Term 2 of 1980, 7 founding students and their families commenced an education with Trinity Christian School. By the second week, student numbers had grown to 11 and within a year there were 90 enrolled.


Trinity Christian School introduced the student partner scheme in 1982, whereby older children assist the social and spiritual growth of a younger child. This concept has formed the backbone of the School’s ethos of love, nurture, service. The Trinity Christian School official logo reflects this, with the large and small mustard seed plant. The seedling concept also derives from Christ’s use of the mustard seed as an illustration of the growth of faith.


In need of a permanent home, the School gained approval to lease a site on McBryde Crescent in Wanniassa. A grant from the School Commission enabled the building of a Trinity Christian School campus on the site.

2004 – 2005

After an extended period of growth and development, the School opened for Year 11 and 12 enrolments in 2004. 2005 marked the inaugural year of Trinity Christian School being a K-12 school.


2015 – 2016

In 2015 the School received an ACT government grant to build an Early Learning Centre. The ELC would offer both a preschool curriculum and also a long daycare option for three and four year olds. In 2016 the ELC was officially opened, making Trinity a Preschool to Year 12 school.


In 2020 the School was honoured to celebrate 40 years of Christian Education in the Tuggeranong Valley.